Morocco Background

The indigenous people of Morocco


Mainly Berbers are the first inhabitants of Morocco, not only Morocco but all the north Africa, from the Canary islands east, Siwa Oasis in Egypt west, to Niger West. Their original name is Amazigh or Imazighen, which means Free People, the nickname of Berber came from the when the Romans came to North Africa used to call anyone does not speak Latin as Barbarian and later the name became Berber.

They lived in many separated communities across Morocco among them, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Niger, Egypt and Mali. Berbers speak many varieties of Amazigh languages that belong to the Afro-Asiatic languages, related to Egyptian, Kushites, Levantine tribes. Amazigh flag contains three main colors and the Letter Z in Berber alphabet. These colors and symbol hold the meaning of. Yellow represents the desert. The green represents the mountains. the Blue represents the ocean and sea. The symbol ⵣ refers to resistance and free men of the Imazighen. Berber language is called as miracle language because it is the last language left from the languages that squeezed the Phoenician, Roman language, and Carthaginian and many other old languages. One of the main traditional for Berber women is the face tattoos by Henna that women used to make as a sign of beauty. And wearing a decorated scarf that on their heads that are made by themselves.



Moroccan History


The kingdom of Morocco is a country among the Maghreb region of North Africa. Morocco is in the borders from Algeria in the east and southeast, the Western Sahara in the south, the Atlantic Ocean in the west, and the Mediterranean Sea in the north. Morocco ruled by six main dynasties. the First of them was the Idrisside dynasty from 789 to 978 leaded by Idriss I who made Volubilis or Oualili as the capital. After the Idrisside, the ruling went to Almoravid dynasty from 1060 to 1147 who found Marrakech and made it as the capital and a main site of trading between the Maghreb and sub Saharan Africa. The dynasty fell from the Almoravids to the Almohads, a new dynasty that ruled from 1145 to 1248, leaded by Ibn Toumert. Later on the Marinids won over the Almohads and they became the conquering dynasty of the country, but they did last too long because they were defeated by the Portuguese.

This dynasty lasted from 1244 to 1465, and Fes was the capital of the Marinids. After the Marinids, a new dynasty began the ruling in the country called Saadian dynasty from 1554 to 1659. They build many artistic and religious artefacts, for example in Fes the Borjs and renewal of the Qarawiyine mosque.

 In Marrakech they built tombs of the Saadians, El Badii Palace, and also the Ben Youssef Medrassa. The current dynasty in Morocco which is Alaouite dynasty that originally from Tafillalt that is located in the south east of Morocco. The Alaouites started ruling since 1666 to the present day.

The main flag of Morocco contains of the red field that represents the blood of the predecessors and the unity. And a green pentagram that represents the five pillars of Islamic religion. Concerning the religion in Morocco, Islam is the predominant in the country, with some of the population adhering the Sunni branch.  Morocco is very known by the cultural diversity influenced by the Arab, Berber, European and African cultures and traditions. Morocco is a popular tourist destination, attracting visitors with its historic cities, stunning landscapes, and unique cultural experiences. Cities like Marrakech and Fes are known for their historic medinas (old towns), while coastal towns like Essaouira offer beautiful beaches and a relaxed atmosphere. The Sahara Desert in southern Morocco is another major attraction, where travelers can experience camel treks and the unique desert environment.

Rate this post

1 thought on “Morocco Background”

  1. Pingback: Best Moroccan valleys - Trips For Morocco

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!